Food Science Leadership Board

The UC Davis Department of Food Science and Technology plays an important role in the food and beverage industry of California and beyond through education of future food scientists, cutting edge research and industry outreach and courses for professionals. We are the largest and highest ranked food science program in the United States.

Staying connected with the industries we serve is critical if we are to maintain our preeminence.

The Food Science Leadership Board provides the department ideas on how the department can best meet the needs of industry through an engaged teaching, research and outreach agenda. The board’s intellectual participation is critical to the department’s success.







Jacqueline H. Beckley

The Understanding & Insight Group

Managing Member, Owner


Tom Bensel

The Culinary Institute of America

Managing Director
 Rebecca N. Bleibaum

Rebecca N. Bleibaum

Dragonfly SCI, Inc.

President/Chief, Sensory Intelligence
 Jack Cooper

Jack Cooper

Food Industry Environmental Network, LLC

Founder & Partner (retired)

 James R. Coughlin

James R. Coughlin, Ph.D

Coughlin & Associates

President & Founder


Kathleen Feicht, Ph.D

Asta Food Research



Steven H. Gill

Gills Onions, LLC


 Leslie Herzog

Leslie Herzog 

The Understanding & Insight Group

VP Operations

 Ash Husain

Ash Husain, Ph.D

Cedarlane Natural Foods

Chief Technical Officer

 Tom Jones

Tom Jones

Clif Bar & Co.

Senior Vice President, Craft-Quality-Innovation


William King


‎Research Fellow, Microbiology Group Manager

Peter Mattson

Pete Mattson, LLC

 Carol McCall

Carol McCall, PhD


R&D Director, Snacks Category

 Moira McGrath

Moira McGrath

OPUS International, Inc


 Tara McHugh

Tara H. McHugh, Ph.D


Research Leader

 Greg McParland

Greg McParland

DSM Venturing

Sr. Investment Manager


Rob Neenan

California League of Food Processors

President & CEO


Reg Nelson

Director of Global Procurement

Jelly Belly Candy Company

William J. Perry

Food Brokers International


Dan Rosson

Ingredient Consortium


Justin Shimek, Ph.D


Chief Executive Officer

 Herbert Stones

Herbert Stone, Ph.D


 Dan Voit

Dan Voit

Blentech Corp.



Dave Withycombe

Del Monte Foods

‎Chief Operating Officer